BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL held at the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Farnborough on Thursday, 5th October, 2023 at 6.30 pm.

The Worshipful The Mayor (Cllr C.P. Grattan) – In the Chair The Deputy Mayor (Cllr Mara Makunura)

Cllr Gaynor Austin Cllr Mrs. D.B. Bedford Cllr J.B. Canty Cllr Sue Carter Cllr Jules Crossley Cllr Keith Dibble Cllr C.P. Grattan Cllr Michael Hope

Cllr A. Adeola

Cllr G.B. Lyon
Cllr Nadia Martin
Cllr Marina Munro
Cllr Dhan Sarki
Cllr M.D. Smith
Cllr P.G. Taylor
Cllr Nem Thapa
Cllr Jacqui Vosper
Cllr Gareth Williams

Cllr Abe Allen
Cllr Jessica Auton
Cllr Jib Belbase
Cllr C.W. Card
Cllr D.E. Clifford
Cllr P.J. Cullum
Cllr A.H. Gani

Cllr Christine Guinness
Cllr Peace Essien Igodifo
Cllr Mara Makunura
Cllr S.J. Masterson
Cllr Sophie Porter
Cllr M.L. Sheehan
Cllr Calum Stewart
Cllr M.J. Tennant
Cllr S. Trussler
Cllr Becky Williams

Honorary Alderman John Debenham Honorary Alderman Sue Dibble Honorary Alderman Tony Gardiner Honorary Alderman Roger Kimber

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Cllr Halleh Koohestani, Cllr T.W. Mitchell, Cllr M.J. Roberts and Cllr Sarah Spall.

18. **ELECTION OF HONORARY ALDERMEN**

(1) Terence David Bridgeman

It was MOVED by Cllr Christine Guinness, SECONDED by Cllr K. Dibble – That, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Rushmoor be conferred upon **TERENCE DAVID BRIDGEMAN** in recognition of the eminent and long service rendered by him to Rushmoor Borough Council for just under 30 years and as Mayor of Rushmoor in 2013 to 2014.

The Motion was put to the Meeting and was **DECLARED CARRIED** unanimously.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Terry Bridgeman with a framed copy of the Resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough Rushmoor and a Badge of Office.

Honorary Alderman Terry Bridgeman addressed the Council and thanked Members for the honour that had been bestowed upon him.

(2) John Henry Marsh

It was MOVED by Cllr Jessica Auton, SECONDED by Cllr Diane Bedford – That, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Rushmoor be conferred upon **JOHN HENRY MARSH** in recognition of the eminent and long service rendered by him to Rushmoor Borough Council for 43 years and as Mayor of Rushmoor in 1984 to 1985, 2005 to 2007 and from 2022 to 2023.

The Motion was put to the Meeting and was **DECLARED CARRIED** unanimously.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman John Marsh with a framed copy of the Resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough Rushmoor and a Badge of Office.

Honorary Alderman John Marsh addressed the Council and thanked Members for the honour that had been bestowed upon him.

	TI	he	meeting	closed	at	7.05	pm.
--	----	----	---------	--------	----	------	-----
